Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) Announces 2022-23 Coach of the Year Winners


Share post:

CHICAGO – The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) has announced the winners of its 2022-23 Coach of the Year Awards. The announcement was made statewide on Tuesday, with the award winners being honored at the IBCA Coach of the Year Award Luncheon on May 6th at Illinois State’s Redbird Arena.

Nick Birkey of Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais was named the IBCA Men’s College Coach of the Year in the NAIA category. 

The Olivet Nazarene basketball team had a successful 2022-23 season under Coach Nick Birkey, finishing with an overall record of 23-8 (.742) and a conference record of 17-3 (.850). They had a high-powered offense, averaging 83.3 points per game on 52.0% shooting from the field and 40.2% shooting from three-point range. The team also excelled in rebounding, averaging 36.5 rebounds per game and out-rebounding their opponents by an average of 5.9 rebounds per game. They had a strong presence on the defensive end as well, allowing just 72.2 points per game and holding their opponents to a field goal percentage of 43.9%. The team’s home attendance was strong, averaging 327 fans per game. Although they lost their final two games, the team showed great promise and potential under Coach Birkey’s leadership.

Other local coaches announced Thursday including IBCA Boys High School Coach of the Year Awards were awarded to Adrian Provost of Bishop McNamara High School in Kankakee for Class 2A District 9, Rich Kolimas of Lincoln-Way East High School for Class 4A District 9, and Jeremy Kreiger of Joliet West High School for Class 4A District 9.

The IBCA Girls High School Coach of the Year Awards were awarded to Eileen Copenhaver of Providence Catholic High School for Class 3A District 9, Dave Campanile of Lincoln-Way Central High School for Class 4A District 9, Ryan White of Lincoln-Way West High School for Class 4A District 9, Barry Bauer of Watseka High School for Class 1A District 13, and Anthony Videka of CISSNA Park High School for Class 1A District 13.

The IBCA Girls Jr. High Coach of the Year Awards were awarded to Bridget A. Dancy of Colin Powell Middle School Matteson for Class 7AAAA District 8, Phellicha A. Calhoun of Colin Powell Middle School for Class 8A District 8, Kayla Horlacher of Beecher Jr. High in Beecher for Class 7AAA District 8, Alicia Sobodas of Manteno Middle School in Manteno for Class 8AAA District 9, Jack Howard of Summit Hill Jr. High in Frankfort for Class 8AAAA District 9, and Jon Donovan of GCMS Middle School in Gibson City for Class 8AA District 13.

Keith Wallace of Lincolnway Special Recreation Association in New Lenox was named the IBCA Unified Special Olympics Coach of the Year for Wheelchair Basketball.

The IBCA is proud of all the winners and congratulates them on their accomplishments this season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related articles

Volunteer Indiana Firefighter Dies in Rollover Crash Involving 2,000-Gallon Fire Tanker

FARMLAND, IN — Tragedy struck Farmland Volunteer Fire Department on Thursday when a fatal rollover crash claimed the life...

Illinois Father, Daughter Save Eight Ducklings in Sewer Adventure

MANTENO, Ill. - Responding to a call of a suspicious man entering the sewers near Legacy Park, Manteno police...

Wig-Wielding Robbery Suspect Engages in Store Altercation in Indiana

HOBART, IN - Police are seeking the public's assistance in identifying a suspect involved in a bizarre retail theft...

Illinois Residents Astonished as Alligator Surprises Neighborhood

DECATUR, Ill. - Residents were taken aback when an unexpected visitor made its way into a front yard on...