Total Solar Eclipse to Darken Indiana Skies in April: Indiana Authorities Issue Travel Advisory

Date:

Share post:

Indianapolis, IN – Indiana is set to witness a spectacular astronomical event on Monday, April 8, as the first total solar eclipse in seven years graces its skies. 

The eclipse will be visible across a significant portion of the state, with the path of totality extending from Evansville to just outside Fort Wayne. It will enter the state’s southwest region at 3:01 p.m. EDT/2:01 p.m. CDT, traversing northeastward before exiting at 3:12 p.m. EDT/2:12 p.m. CDT. Additionally, parts of Indiana will experience a partial eclipse, with at least 90 percent totality, from around 1:30 p.m. EDT/12:30 p.m. CDT to 4:30 p.m. EDT/3:30 p.m. CDT.

An estimated 4 million residents within the path of totality, alongside numerous visitors, are expected, potentially causing significant traffic and congestion. Hotspots for eclipse viewers include Vincennes, Bloomington, Franklin, areas north of Richmond, Indianapolis, and Evansville.

To navigate this extraordinary event, the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) and the Indiana State Police (ISP) advise careful planning. They recommend researching viewing sites, preparing for traffic delays, and ensuring road trip essentials, including solar eclipse glasses, are on hand. During the eclipse, it’s crucial to avoid stopping on highways, use headlights, and refrain from using mobile devices while driving. After the event, patience and adherence to law enforcement directives are emphasized for a safe journey home.

To assist travelers, INDOT will minimize road closures and suspend oversize and overweight permits. For real-time traffic updates, the public can utilize INDOT’s TrafficWise via its mobile app or the website 511in.org. Further information about the eclipse in Indiana can be found at eclipse2024.in.gov, visitindiana.com/eclipse2024, greatamericaneclipse.com/indiana-2024-eclipse, and science.nasa.gov.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related articles

Kankakee County, IL – Vigilance Urged as Measles Cases Reported in Indiana

Kankakee County, IL - The Kankakee County Health Department is on high alert following an advisory from the...

Illinois-Indiana Face Tornado Watch: Urgent Weather Alert Issued

Chicago, IL - The National Weather Service has issued Tornado Watch 25, effective until 10 PM CST this...

Kankakee County, IL – Half-Million Dollar Blaze Engulfs Bradley Vape Shop

Kankakee County, IL - A devastating fire swept through a Bradley vape shop over the weekend, leaving in...

Kankakee County, IL – Tragic Collision Results in Two Fatalities

Kankakee County, IL - A devastating road incident occurred in Kankakee County late Monday evening, claiming the lives...