Kankakee Community College employee milestone ceremony


Share post:

On Friday, Oct. 25, Kankakee Community College held a recognition ceremony to honor 40 employees for service at the college.

Brian Yeoman of Saint Anne was honored for 45 years of service, the first KCC employee to reach that milestone. Yeoman started at KCC on Feb. 19, 1974. He is currently the assistant director of the Physical Plant Department.

“Brian has been instrumental in the maintenance and running of the college facilities,” said Rich Soderquist, director of KCC’s Physical Plant Department. “Starting as an electrician and working his way into the administration of the physical plant, he has been involved in all aspects of the college’s daily operations, and has been an important part of KCC’s expansion into what now includes the main Riverfront Campus and three extension centers totaling almost 450,000 square feet of buildings and 185 acres of campus grounds, all of which supports the college’s educational programs.”

Others honored were:

Thirty-five years of employment, since 1984 – Cyndy Riordan, administrative assistant II, Student Success Office, Student Affairs Department.

Thirty years of employment, since 1989 – Michele Buikema, administrative assistant II, Accounting Office, Financial Affairs Department.

Twenty-five years of employment, since 1994 – Frank Martin, technician I, Physical Plant Department; Mary Posing, assistant dean, Continuing Education and Career Services; and Judy Spence, administrative assistant I, Enrollment Services Office, Student Affairs Department.

Twenty years of employment, since 1999 – Karen Bayston, receptionist II, Enrollment Services Office, Student Affairs Department; Robert Gifford specialist I/technical support, Information Technology Services Department; Prosper Hevi, business professor, Business/Technology Division; Bob Ling, biology professor, Math, Science and Engineering Division; Dwayne Musick, academic advisor, Student Affairs Office; Brenda Newman, specialist II, Financial Aid Office, Student Affairs Department; and Kari Nugent, director, Marketing and Public Relations Department.

Fifteen years of employment, since 2004 – Linsey Cuti, Sherry Kinzler, Pat Klette, Herman Martinez, David Massey and Pam Nault.

Ten years of employment, since 2009 – John Avendano (now retired), Tracy Conner, Jacob Fansler, Cathi Hughes, Rexann McKinley, Allyson Saxton, Chelise Slowik, Keisha Smith, Yuri Starik and Kenneth West.

Five years of employment, since 2014 – Robert Babich, Michael Boyd, Chenille Evans, Lamanda Garcia, Bernice Hinrich, Nathan Raimondo, Michael Reising, Karen Richards, Karen Slager, Timothy Valerio, Margaret Wolf.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related articles

Bradley, IL – Local Fire Crews Battle Blaze at Vape Shop on Kennedy Drive

Bradley, IL - Local Fire Crews are responding this hour to a fire call at a Vape Shop...

Lombard, IL – AgeGuide Northeastern Illinois Announces New Grant Opportunities for 2025

Lombard, IL – AgeGuide, the Area Agency on Aging for Northeastern Illinois, has publicized grant funding opportunities for...

Naperville, IL – Nicor Gas Mitigates Winter Storm Impacts with Proactive Measures

NAPERVILLE, IL – In response to the harsh conditions of winter storm Gerri, Nicor Gas has effectively managed natural...

Urgent Search in Ohio for Missing 15-Year-Old Girl with Montana Ties

Columbus, OH - The Franklin County Sheriff's Office in Columbus, Ohio, is seeking public assistance in locating a...