69.1 F
Wednesday, May 18, 2022

167,697 local views in last 30 days

AMITA Health St. Mary’s Hospital Kankakee Again Receives 5 Stars from Healthgrades for Newborn Deliveries

KANKAKEE – AMITA Health St. Mary’s Hospital Kankakee has for a second consecutive year been recognized as a 5-star recipient for both vaginal and cesarian deliveries by Healthgrades, the leading resource that connects consumers, physicians and health systems.

The 5-star rating highlights the hospital’s clinical outcomes for both delivery methods are statistically significantly better than expected, placing it among the national leaders.

“This is yet another incredible outcome from an amazing team,” said Chris Shride, president of AMITA Health St. Mary’s Hospital. “The national designation proves, even with the pandemic’s challenges, our labor and delivery team provide the safest care for all our new moms and babies. We’re all so proud of their success and the industry-leading best practices they offer our community.”

Healthgrades analyzed all-payer state data for 16 states for years 2017 through 2019, finding there a significant variation in hospital quality between those receiving 5 stars and those that have not. For example, according to Healthgrades, from 2017 through 2019, women having a cesarian delivery in hospitals rated 5-stars have, on average, a 59.2% lower risk of experiencing a complication while in the hospital than if they were treated by hospitals rated 1 star.

“Women can feel confident selecting a hospital recognized with a 5-star rating for providing exceptional women’s care. We commend the organizations that receive this achievement and for their ongoing commitment to providing exceptional care for their patients,” said Dr. Brad Bowman, chief medical officer for Healthgrades.

More information is available on Healthgrades’ hospital quality awards and methodologies by clicking here.

Top stories

Support independent journalism today



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.